BEA Recap: Day Three

4 Jun

On Wednesday, the second official show day of Book Expo, I arrived right on the expo floor right in time for the doors to open. Suddenly, the people around me were running in every direction, and I had no clue what was going on. I decided to head over to the booth’s of some of my favorite YA publishers, and see what ARC’s they had available. I did not know on Tuesday, that the morning “rush” is when most ARC’s are actually handed out.

I now understand why crazy people run to their favorite booths. I dashed from booth to booth, and found many books that I had on my BEA wishlist. By 9:30am, my grocery tote was nearly full of books (something it’d taken me hours to do on Tuesday). At some point, I met up with Lindsi, and we continued our book quest, until I lost her again.

But not before we met Lauren Kate, who was doing an in-booth signing of Passion:
IMG_0726
Lauren was very sweet.

I ended up skipping the lines to meet Lauren Oliver, and Ally Condie, because they were insane. I found a copy of Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, one of my “must haves” right away, so I grabbed one in case they ran out before her signing at 10:30am. The line moved quickly (or at least it did where I was–relatively close to the front). Laini was so cute, and seemed really excited to be meeting so many of her fans.
IMG_0725
Laini Taylor and her awesome pink hair.

After Laini, I dashed back to the autographing area to get in line for Melissa Marr.
IMG_0723
Melissa with Casey.

I finally got a copy of Graveminder, which I’d been waiting forever for. But of course, not until after I stood in a massive line. Not sure if it was the crazy line, or just general BEA fatigue, but Melissa seemed tired.

Next I met Joceyln Davies, author of A Beautiful Dark, but it happened so fast, I can barely recall any details.

After hearing horror stories of Tuesday’s signing at the Harlequin booth I met Lindsi and Casey in line twenty minutes early for the multi-author Harlequin Teen event. According to multiple reports, a blogger and her friends blockaded the table and were stealing books out of people’s hands at Rachel Vincent’s signing for Blood Bound! And yes before someone asks, I was told the name of the blogger who was responsible. Thankfully, I’ve never met or spoken to her, or I’d be embarrassed to be her friend.

The Harlequin line quickly grew crazy, making me glad I’d decided to head there early.

IMG_0729
While we were waiting, we discovered the cover for Goddess Interrupted!

And right before that, in the comic book area, I saw a wall of comic book ads that included Richelle Mead’s Dark Swan series:
IMG_0722

Julie Kagawa, Kady Cross, Gena Showalter, and Maria V. Snyder were all signing. Not surprisingly, all four turned out to be incredibly nice authors! Here’s Julie signing copies of Iron Queen:

IMG_0721

After the signing, I was finally able to grab some lunch downstairs at Javits. Downstairs, one of the most inexpensive options was pizza. While I was waiting in line, the woman in front of me complimented me on my eye makeup. We started talking, and then I noticed her name tag: Sarah Beth Durst! I told her I was a fan, and saw her upcoming book in the Fall preview slide show, “Drink,Slay,Love” the day before at the Simon and Schuster preview. So she gave me a bookmark!

I had some time to kill, so I went straight over to Penguin to get in line for Eoin Colfer’s new adult mystery novel, Plugged. The line was long, but moved pretty fast. Books were handed out before we reached Mr. Colfer, so it was nice to for once, stand in a long line, yet still be assured I would receive a signed book.

IMG_0720
Plugged.

My last few signings of the day were over in the Random House area. I arrived early once again, so I got in line to meet James Dashner, and got a signed excerpt of the new Maze Runner book “The Death Cure”. I told James I hadn’t read the series yet, but had it on my TBR for ages. He joked that I was smart for waiting until all three books were out!

IMG_0719
James Dashner.

I found Lindsi and Casey again, sitting on the floor behind Random House, waiting for Erin Morgenstern’s “Night Circus” signing to begin. The line was long (EVERYONE seemed to be talking about how amazing this book is!), but once again, moved quickly. Which worked out for me, because my next and last event was Chuck Palahniuk’s signing for “Damned” about ten feet away. Chuck being Chuck, the line was insane. People began to line up over an hour and a half early. Since I couldn’t wait in both the Night Circus line, and Chuck’s at the same time, despite their proximity, I got stuck somewhere about 60 feet away from the front.

I had to leave for a work appointment at 5:15pm, and before I knew it, it was 4:40 and the line had only moved 10 feet. Chuck is amazing, and very personable, so he was chatting at length and posing for multiple photos with fans.

Unfortunately, BEA is just not the right venue for The other attendees in line around me began grumbling that we were at a trade show–not comic con, and I started worrying that I’d miss my appointment and/or the signing would be stopped when the exhibit floor closed at 5.

I ended up having to give up, grab my roommate to stand in line for me, and leave the show. I spoke to Chuck’s publicist on my way out about fan’s being upset about the line congestion and length. And snapped a quick photo:
IMG_0718
Chuck!

I was told that after I left, the line moved much faster. Luckily, thanks to Jenn, I still got my signed book. After my quick work meeting, I skipped out on a publishing event to go home and crash. I could barely walk with my overstuffed suitcase, and was completely exhausted. I need to pack for Jamaica (I didn’t), and was planning on attending the evening’s blogger dinner meetup.

I got to the dinner, held at Dallas BBQ in Chelsea, and hosted by Damaris and Yara a bit late, but still had an amazing time making new blogger friends, and a socializing with a handful of authors. Also, Dallas BBQ has amazing inexpensive frozen margaritas!

IMG_0717

IMG_0716
Half of the bloggers from Reading Teen!

IMG_0713
The evening’s hosts, and author guests .

Somewhere, I have a photo that I am actually in, but I will have to find it and edit it in later. šŸ™‚

The dinner was a blast, but I was so sad to say goodbye to everyone. Wednesday was my last day at BEA, and I was completely exhausted. I thought before that I could get up early, attend the show for an hour or two, and then leave for the airport Thursday afternoon, but there was just no way. After the dinner, I went home, pet my new books again and took way too many photos of them, and started my preliminary packing.

In the end, this was my final BEA haul:

IMG_0711
Not pictured: a few books I gave away to friends, and a few accidental repeats. All in all, thanks to the efforts of my roommate, my friends, and myself, I received 108 books.

I am so thankful for everything I received, and busted my ass to get. But I am also now completely and utterly TERRIFIED of my TBR pile. And before anything says anything about the sheer number of books I got (I seem to have the largest pile so far, out of my friends) YES I plan on reading all of these books. Anything that I change my mind about will go to either family members (there is a book on fonts calling my Mother’s name), or blogger friends who will review them.

As a newer blogger, I just recently started to receive ARC copies for review. So like I said, I am beyond thankful that I was able to meet so many amazing publicity and marketing folks, and get so many wonderful books. Every book on this table, with the exception of 10 or so my roommate picked up for me unexpectedly was on a meticulously researched list of books I wanted from BEA. I planned nearly every minute of my two days on the show floor–and it paid off!

So thank you to everyone I met. I’m sure I forgot a lot of your names, but everyone was truly awesome. And thanks to everyone who helped me have such an amazing first year at BEA! Be sure to stay tuned for my final BEA recap post, where I discuss everything good and bad about my experience. šŸ™‚

5 Responses to “BEA Recap: Day Three”

  1. April (Good Books & Wine) June 5, 2011 at 9:18 AM #

    Damn girl, 108?! That said, I think I got around a similar amount at my first BEA.

    This year, because I’m not a new blogger, I have tons of publishing contacts and so since I already get books for review I already had quite a bit of the books available at BEA and was able to take a more laid back approach. I wonder if the same will happen with you next year.

    Awesome recap and I hope you discover plenty of awesome new gems in your pile šŸ˜€

    • Bookshelf Lust June 5, 2011 at 11:28 AM #

      Thanks April! I’m excited to read everything. 108 is a bit scary. I had grabbed around 85 books, only to find out my roommate had picked up a bunch more for me on Thursday!

      I think you’re right though, next year I will 1. Be pickier, and 2. Probably already have some of the books at BEA via my new publicity contacts. I saw that a lot of bloggers (you included) received some of the stuff I picked up @ BEA in the mail beforehand.

      I hope all of that works in my favor, and that my next BEA is a little more laid back. : )

  2. Mickey @ imabookshark June 5, 2011 at 4:38 PM #

    So, so jealous. I seriously hope I can go next year!!!!!

    I picked your blog for the Irresistibly Sweet Blog Award! Check it out here! :o)

    Mickey @ imabookshark

  3. Midnyte Reader June 7, 2011 at 8:39 PM #

    Nice haul! It was so good to see you there. I am almost done with The Eleventh Plague and I’m trying to read as fast as I can. It was a crazy good time!

    • Bookshelf Lust June 10, 2011 at 5:40 PM #

      Thanks Pam!
      Hope Eleventh Plague is good! I’m excited to check it out, whenever I get to it!

Leave a Reply

