Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookish Resolutions

11 Jan

Photobucket

1. Review books right after finishing them. #1 book/blog resolution. Hands down. I have a notebook of handwritten commentary about ten books that I’ve read in the last month, and still haven’t reviewed! This need to change asap.
2. Use Paperback Swap more/Keep my PBS lists updated. I go through phases where I get 10 books a month, and then the next month, 1. I’d like to take advantage of this “cheap” and easy resource more!
3. Shop more at Indie bookstores. This is much easier to do in NYC than anywhere else I’ve ever lived! I regularly shop in Strand and Books of Wonder. Sadly, where my parents live there is one indie bookstore in a 6 town radius. And it’s really a toy store that sells a few childrens books. In my midwestern home town? I can’t think of ONE.
4. Read 100 books in 2011. I *think* I can do it! I’m already on my 5th!
5. Read at least 10 books that I already own, and purchased pre-2010. I have sooooo many older books just languishing on my bookshelves.
6. Read more “physical” books. After buying my kindle, I went a little nuts with the e-books. In NYC it’s impossible to lug a 400+ page book around with you all day, so I use my kindle constantly. The (pre-kindle) purchase weeks when I was busier with my photography (carrying tons of equipment, while traveling on foot), I read next to nothing. I’d like to use the kindle for travel, and read more book books while at home.
7. Read on the subway more. This goes along with #6. I’d like to get back into reading more (books or e-books!) during my commute, and listening to my iPod less.
8. Read more classics. Pretty sure the last classic I read was in high school. Which was ten years ago.
9. Buy less books. I tend to go overboard and buy ten books at a time. And then only read half of them. Planning my book purchases in advance seems to help a lot.
10. Go to BEA. I never know what my schedule will be like in advance, since I mostly do freelance work. But I’d really like to make time to go to BEA this year. Especially since it’s in my hometown! : )

7 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Bookish Resolutions”

  1. 1girl2manybooks January 11, 2011 at 1:14 AM #

    I have read more classics too! I’m hoping that reading them by choice rather than for study will help me develop a better appreciation for them 🙂 I also have a goal to read a few books from my TBR shelf that’ve been there for over 12 months.

    Planning book purchases seems like a really good idea but I’m not quite sure that’s a resolution I could keep!

  2. Niecole January 11, 2011 at 1:40 AM #

    It seems we’ve all got the review as soon as we’ve done resolution on our lists.
    I hope that I can keep up with my resolutions
    Love the list!

    Come say hi any time

  3. brandileigh2003 January 11, 2011 at 10:16 AM #

    I really wish I were able to go to BEA!
    Brandi from Blkosiner’s Book Blog

  4. Jen January 11, 2011 at 6:09 PM #

    I definitely need to read more classics. Sometimes I just get so caught up in the new releases and what other bloggers are reading that the classics just get pushed to the back-burner!

    If I review a book a couple weeks after finishing it the review always comes out horrible (well…I think so anyway). So I am also going to try to write my reviews immediately after finishing.

    Jen at The Broke and the Bookish

  5. Shanyn January 11, 2011 at 9:13 PM #

    I think you can read 100 books!! It seems like a lot to start, but if you have some good spurts (like the 4.5 you’ve already read) you can do it!

  6. Patti Smith January 12, 2011 at 7:56 AM #

    Even in our small Mississippi town I use my Kindle constantly to read a chapter or a few in between other obligations or waiting on something or someone. I’m also planning to use the Indie bookstores more this year…unfortunately, the nearest one to my home is 1 1/2 hours away, but my oldest daughter and I have already scheduled a visit for a day later this month when Jeannette Walls will be visiting and signing Half Broke Horses 🙂

Leave a Reply

